Making a Sapu Lidi

Here I sit in a ‘kebun’ on a bench made from a length of timber supported by props resting on rocks. Above me is a bee hive and I keep forgetting that the buzzing around my head isn’t flies! I hope I don’t accidentally swat a bee!

20130726-102436.jpgNext to me is a very elderly Kumpi (great grandmother) who has just proudly told me she has many children, many grand children and many great grand children! While I sit typing on my ipad, she is stripping dry coconut fronds. The lidi (leaf spine) is firstly stripped to the core and then trimmed neatly.

20130726-102026.jpgCan you see the 2 piles next to her? One is the roughly trimmed lidi and the smaller pile closer to her are the neatly trimmed lidi.

A green coconut leaf looks like this

20130726-101729.jpg

When it is dry, it looks like this:

20130726-101835.jpg

Up the centre of each frond is a thick spine. Can you see the spine of the overturned frond?

20130726-101946.jpg

When Dadong has enough lidi, she will bind them together to make a sapu lidi (lidi broom). This is what a sapu lidi looks like:

20130726-103104.jpg

A sapu lidi is a very hardy broom and very easy to use as well. Yards and paving in Bali are swept both morning and night with a sapu lidi. Why do you think there is a sapu lidi out here in the kebun?

2 thoughts on “Making a Sapu Lidi

  1. Pingback: Culling Spree | Notes from a Novice Gardener's Journal

Leave a Reply

